Review: Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

Rebecca

by Daphne du Maurier

‘Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.’ So the second Mrs Maxim de Winter remembered the chilling events that led her down the turning drive past the beeches, white and naked, to the isolated gray stone manse on the windswept Cornish coast. With a husband she barely knew, the young bride arrived at this immense estate, only to be inexorably drawn into the life of the first Mrs. de Winter, the beautiful Rebecca, dead, but never forgotten…her suite of rooms never touched, her clothes ready to be worn, her servant – the sinister Mrs Danvers – still loyal. And as an eerie presentiment of evil tightened around her heart, the second Mrs. de Winter began her search for the real fate of Rebecca…for the secrets of Manderley.

I absolutely adored this story, it is descriptive and flows beautifully. The author manages to get across the youth and immaturity of the main character, the unnamed Mrs de Winter, who has to live in the shadow of the delightful, successful and beautiful Rebecca, the first tragically lost Mrs de Winter.

Throughout the story our young Mrs is unsure, seems to lack confidence and questions the love that Maxim has for her. She never comes across as strong and confident (as it is her that is telling us the story) as she fails to see the strength that it takes to give up all she has known to travel over countries following her new husband. She struggles day to day to fill the enormous shoes that Rebecca has left in the household, and seems to fall back into herself.

We follow her journey and growth, and observe her as she slowly matures and learns to stand her ground. What I liked most about this book is the descriptive prose that she seems to distract herself into, she will be having a conversation with some one, but will then lose herself with a butterfly or bee flying past. When she describes the scorching heat, I can almost feel it touching my skin at the same time.

I would highly recommend this book to any lovers of fiction, be that modern or classic. 

Favourite Quote: …’Rebecca must have been a wonderful person.’ I could not believe that I had said the name at last. I waited, wondering what would happen. I had said the name. I had said the word Rebecca aloud. It was a tremendous relief. It was as though I had taken a purge and rid myself of an intolerable pain. Rebecca. I had said it aloud. Page 123.   

Recommended Retail Price $16.99-26.99

Recommended Age: 13+ (if mature)

My Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

